For some lazy days ahead, like this one…

Bags packed, heading towards the lift, my colleague asked me, “So what you are going to do today?” This was the first time when I was going to stay alone (just for one day) after my wedding since past six and half months. Although I have lived in an apartment for three long years with my room-mate and as per our routine both of us would go home and the other one would stay alone. I have lived for almost a week too, like this. Hence it was not a big deal, either any fears or boredom of staying alone. I am the one who can find plenty of things to do.

But still I am writing this as this is about something else. So coming back my colleague’s question: While returning home yesterday, I also pondered for a while about it, there were plenty of things and I also felt “I have more time today” (as if all of my work is just because of my dear husband). Thanks to this blog, there are several things in pipeline that I have to do and much more that I have to yet think about.

I reached home finally (although my home is just 15 minutes distance from my office), all exhausted. My head, eyes, legs and back were aching slightly. Somehow I managed to cook and have dinner, tried to watch some TV but nothing seemed to amuse me. Finally I went off to surf some net, talked on phone and then drenched into deep sleep.

It was only when my door bell rang up at 8 o’clock that I could get up and start hustling for getting ready. My house-help is also on a week’s leave. Now in situations like this, when I have to cook for myself only, it is pretty natural for me to not feel like cooking much. I wanted to resort to something quick and requiring least effort. And bingo! There arrived the idea of Lemon Rice, the delicious South Indian dish, which can even be made with leftover rice. I had seen the recipe in a magazine by Tarla Dalal a few days back. I quickly went to fetch that magazine from my library and went inside the kitchen. Within 10-15 minutes my lunch was ready and seemed so yummy too. I don’t know whether it was actually that delectable or just the idea of cooking without putting in much of time or energy let it taste so good for me.

So now I am saving this recipe for some other lazy days like this and sharing it here too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cups cooked rice (or leftover rice)
  • 1 tbsps cooking oil
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 3-4 curry leaves
  • 1 broken Kashmiri red chilly
  • 1 green chillies slit lengthwise
  • 1/2″ piece of ginger grated
  • 1 tsp of chana dal and urad dal
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Salt to taste

Preparation:

  • Heat the oil in a pan and add the mustard seeds, curry leaves and broken red chillies.
  • Fry till the spluttering stops and add the ginger, green chilly and dals.
  • Fry for another minute. Add the coriander powder, salt and turmeric powder and turn off the fire.
  • Add the rice and lemon juice and mix thoroughly.
  • Serve with a Raita and Poppadums.
4 thoughts on “For some lazy days ahead, like this one…

  1. You had me at ‘coriander’, my absolutely favorite herb! Lemon rice sounds absolutely delicious, thanks for sharing this recipe.
    I hope you’ll have lots of lazy days ahead of you 🙂

      1. By ‘lazy days’ I mean days you can take the time to refuel, tank some energy, to relax. Not boring days. And you can’t live full speed all of the time, you’ll burn out! So allow some laziness into your life every now and then. << good advice.
        (As if I have lazy days… NOT! ;))

Leave a Reply

